Reviews for Learning to Love

BY : Ikaru


  • From ANON - on July 05, 2016

    Bravo on very long piece and great ideas. Loved strong Kag, idea of kamis matchmaking and having a hand in creating Super Kag, and chibi Yash is adorable! Yash+Rin was original, different from usual Shippo+Rin, and cute. I was glad to see a happy Yash (full youkai so won’t get hurt from hanyou stigma yay!) +Izayoi with Taisho+Sess+Ikaru happy family. Nice touch giving Ah Un a mate, definitely a first!

    Though lil Shippo is cute, I think story is being pulled in too many directions. We have strong Sess & Kag (which still really needs to be proven as Ikaru’s taken center stage), discovering K's new powers/abilities, evil man hovering around K +threat to her family, another evil man who killed Ikaru's family and I guess is still out there so ongoing threat to the East (and the West). K getting used to life in the West and her pups, tennyo/kamis and their influence/interaction with K. There seems plenty on the plate without bringing in Ship to story and with a huge background where he's got a crazy bro who's killed all 20+ family members and trying to mate his own sister. And Ship also gets adopted…like Ikaru…and Rin. Felt it was a bit too much.

    I enjoyed the read but also felt a bit betrayed to see a great S+K story hijacked by an OC halfway through. While this is your story and totally up to you how you wish to write it, I really hope you turn this story back into a SxK story as it’s stated, otherwise best to amend your Summary. Your summary’s great (certainly drew me in) it just doesn't reflect the story now as the last 14 chapters has been Ikaru’s story with SxK thrown in on the side (and honestly, had it stated this was an OC story, I wouldn’t have read it). The level of detail given to Ikaru early on and how often she popped up did have me thinking she’d be a big supporting character but I never would’ve guessed she’d grab the main roles from both S+K. It was a bit disturbing how often Ikaru popped up during Sess’s intimate moments w/ K, eg not only when S reminisces on Ikaru while comforting K from nightmare, but also S has an Ikaru flashback after mating K for first time. While some of those flashback details were important, the timing was terrible. I thought we were dealing with a Sess with a strong sister-complex…not an appealing thought at all! Haha

    My thoughts on Ikaru's another story. I’ve come to dislike Ikaru and will leave my comments on that for next time as I’m a bit pissed at her for taking over the story. (^^;  Anyway, there’s still hope for K and looking fwd to seeing a more powerful K w new abilities.

    Just sharing some thoughts where I got a bit confused/things seemed a little hard to swallow.

    - c12: Taisho calls mate Serenity then tells Ikaru that he and Lady Sakura will give her their blood. I think you mean Serenity right? Maybe getting confused b/c Serenity's fight move name is Sakura something? 

    - c21: when Taisho recants meeting Izayoi "he had felt a spark similar to the one he had felt when he had met Sakura." You mean Serenity, S's mum, right?

    - When Ericka updates S on their families, strange how little info is given on the evil man, simply that a man w/ evil aura came to K’s mum twice to see the Princess. They wouldn’t let anyone see the Queen/Lady so he must’ve had some background to be let through to see her. Also S surprisingly asks no questions to Ericka re this man - especially cuz even if K’s mum doesn’t know the truth of who the man is, surely the tennyo/kamis will know more so what better way to find out the truth? Wouldn’t Sess get details to potential threat? To be better prepped or even better, launch offensive which seems to be what he’d do? I really hope K’s horrible vision doesn’t come true…well they’re guarded by heavenly beings so they should be safe…



    Report Review


  • From ANON - Sesshomaru's heart on May 01, 2016

    Ok, I'm glad I got more clarity on the story. I like the "girl power" tone of the story but I'm really disliking Ikaru. Where does she get off acting like she rules the west? They're grown now, so why is she still stronger than sesshomaru? What gives her the right to judge his actions. she needs to find a mate of her own instead of being a overbearing. ..you know the rest. If she knew her "brother, she should know he would not starve her of blood. She was also told by the tennyo that he was taken away so obviously he been through some stuff. Any good sister would be happy their brother found someone to love, who also loves them. That's all I'm saying. otherwise I love the story.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Sesshomaru's heart on May 01, 2016

    Ok, I'm glad I got more clarity on the story. I like the "girl power" tone of the story but I'm really disliking Ikaru. Where does she get off acting like she rules the west? They're grown now, so why is she still stronger than sesshomaru? What gives her the right to judge his actions. she needs to find a mate of her own instead of being a overbearing. ..you know the rest. If she knew her "brother, she should know he would not stave her of blood. she was also told by the tennyo that he was taken away so obviously he been through some stuff. Any good sister would be happy their brother found someone to love, who also loves them. That's all I'm saying. otherwise I love the story.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Sesshomaru's heart on April 30, 2016

    Well, I see that kago.email is already favored. She got to draw blood twice with out any consequences. This story is making our favorite character seem weak and I don't take kindly to it. Secondly, now that kagome has to rely on him, why is HE again the loser of abilities and Again she loses nothing? I'm already annoyed with this. The premise was good but if it doesn't even out soon the story would be ruined in my opinion.... I sigh exasperated

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Sesshomaru's heart on April 30, 2016

    Well, I see that kago.email is already favored. She got to draw blood twice with out any consequences. This story is making our favorite character seem weak and I don't take kindly to it. Secondly, now that kagome has to rely on him, why is HE again the loser of abilities and Again she loses nothing? I'm already annoyed with this. The premise was good but if it doesn't even out soon the story would be ruined in my opinion.... I sigh exasperated

    Report Review


  • From lara5170 on February 04, 2016

    I wonder what's going to happen to Rin now that she has the blood of 2 powerful demons and 1 hybrid type, I know this story has become more about Ikaru but I'm curious if it will go back to Sessh and Kagome because I'm curious of the other powers Kagome will have.

    Report Review


  • From lara5170 on February 04, 2016

    I love how they handled the tutor, quite an angry lot they were but I must agree with them. While I'm unable to have kids of my own I do have my niece and nephew who are twins and if anyone had harmed them I don't know how I'd control my rage. Still I must admit that this story seems to be revolving around Ikaru still and I'm quite confused about it now, the last 8 chapters have been either about her or she was the main character and that's quite a lot for a character who isn't supposed to be the main focus of the story. While I know how it feels to create your own character and get caught up in it because it can be quite exciting I still don't understand why the focus has been taken from the main pairing for so long.

    Report Review


  • From lara5170 on February 04, 2016

    While I really like this story and really enjoy your character Ikaru, I can't help getting the feeling that it's becoming more involved with her. I just read the part where they are at the party after she kicked Conner's ass and since the few chapters since Kagome and Sessh reached his home have been so focused on her that I had actually forgotten that this story was a Sessh/Kagome story. I don't understand how she has become the main character or why, it's just that so much has centered around her instead of the main characters that I'd started to unconsciously feel as if I were reading a story about her instead....

    Report Review


  • From lara5170 on February 03, 2016

    That was quite a good idea I must agree to give Ah and Un a mate. I've always wondered about the 2 headed dragon.

    Report Review


  • From lara5170 on February 03, 2016

    I love that this story doesn't have Kagome portrayed as weak and helpless. It seems almost everyone has her as weak, defenseless and so caught up with being madly in love with Inu and always being hurt by his constant desire to compare her to Kikyo and him always running off to be with the golem. I like it better when she isn't that way and can stand up for herself and I really like it when she isn't portrayed as being Kikyo's reincarnation because I find Kikyo repulsive. Thank you for this story again

    Report Review


  • From ANON - LittleKitten on November 06, 2015

    Oh my god. Please keep this fan fiction coming. I am completely in love with it. I usually hate reading ones where it goes off and tells other peoples story too much but this is just so well written and thought out. I just love it. Can't wait to read more!

    Report Review


  • From ANON - stephanie on May 21, 2013

    I love your fanfic it is so amazing , by far one of the best I have ever read please dont stop writting im dying for you to continue on with this wonderful story you have me on the edge of my seat. Thank you for writting my most favorit story.
    Sincerely yours steph.

    Report Review


  • From ANON - Destry on February 23, 2013

    i don't understand why kagome can't see sesshoumaru or sleep next to him?

    Report Review


  • From ANON - brifelton09 on December 07, 2012

    First of I would like to say I love your story very much I just like how you get it to flow so nicely with the characters and even though you changed how Kagome and some of the characters are in this story it just fits. I had started to read it before I don't know how long ago it was but had seen you had recently updated it so I decided to read it from the beginning again and loved it even more. My little bit of critism is that I was wondering when Kagome would get to go home and see her mom and we would find out who the dark man from her nightmares on the island is I wasn't sure if you remembered that or not cause you have been pretty into the whole story so far with her at Sesshomaru's home and she hasn't even asked once about going to see her mom.Also, I have seen a bit or grammar errors here and there nothing real serious but some misspelled words and I don't know if you have one or even want one but I wouldn't mind betaing if you ever wanted me to I am a stay at home mom with some time on my hands here and there just let me know.
    Thanks for reading this.
    Briana

    Report Review


  • From lara5170 on September 18, 2012

    I love this story and I'm really glad I found that it had been updated again. I just wish this site sent out email chapter updates so I could read them as soon as they are posted. This was a long chapter and I really loved it. I'm a bit confused about somethings- like how the story has had very little content about 'Sessh & Kagome' since they arrived at his home. When they were on the island Kagome was having something like visions(?)& when they left the island in Ch.13 Erika the tennyo explained to them that(cut & paste) Kagome had a hidden power within her that she was unaware of & that she was never a normal human."(&) that she had enhanced abilities. While you were in your mother's womb the kami gifted you with several gifts.The majority of these gifts,however,would not manifest themselves until you met Sesshoumaru and mixed his blood with yours. This activated the rest of your latent abilities; you will slowly discover what those abilities are as time moves on. Your senses, strength, stamina and speed are even greater than they were before,but that is only the tip of the anthill so to speak, but that is for you to figure out on your own my dear. Kagome to be honest I have no idea what to classify you as, you are no longer human,but not a demon,nor are a hanyo ..Hmmm, maybe a type of tennyo? That sounds as good as anything at this point." (&) Ericka told Kagome-your body now requires that you ingest blood on a regular basis. While you are pregnant,your body will require an even greater amount of blood to keep both you and the pup healthy. When the pup is born you will not require as great an amount, but you will be required to feed on blood regularly to keep your health and strength up; much like a demon does. Your child will not be a half breed, since Kagome was 'technically' not human when she became pregnant, it will be something greater because Kagome had a this hidden power within her & was never a normal human."
    Since Erika said that her latent abilities from the kamis had been activated by Sessh's blood & that her enhanced senses,speed & strength-were just the tip of the anthill & Kagome would figure out the rest of them on her own.(To me it seemed to imply that if her enhanced senses & such were just the tip of the anthill then Kagome would start manifesting some major powers & abilities but there has been no info in the story of Kagome's enhanced senses or anything else.) I'm kind of bummed because I've been looking forward to finding out what Kagome is becoming & what her new abilities & powers would be. (will she be able to fly,use elements, have visions, use majic or what? Ericka said she may be some type of tennyo but there's been absolutely no changes to Kagome (not even mentions of her enhanced senses?)
    It seemed Kagome was the only being of her kind &/or she'd be changing into a new & powerful being that never existed before?) There's also been no mention of the man that is after Kagome & the reason she can't see her family. I've been dying to find out what new powers & abilities Kagome would get & now that she also received blood Ikaru I'm curios if that will have any effect on Kagome? I'm also dying to know if Kagome will be able to understand howls,barks & yips (so she could communicate with her pups?)? I'm also curious if Erika will be continuing to visit her, guide her & inform her of stuff- either about her family,the scary man that is after her or about any changes Kagome will be going through. It also seemed odd that all these powerful demons (or demons of royal blood) didn't care or even take any notice of Kagome & as she's neither a human or demon but something altogether uique,,I thought the demons would be curious of her scent,aura or etc. I'm sorry this review was so long & confusing but I just got a new PC & I can't work it very well & every time I try to type, delete or edit...I lose everything I'm writing.)& sometimes the page just dissappears. Well I'll leave it here & just say that I can't wait to read more & find out what happens next.

    Report Review